Utah County Sheriff's Office

Civil Process Service Fees


Utah State Statute allows for the Utah County Sheriff’s Office to receive fees for civil process services. The amounts are governed by Utah State Statute 17-22-2.5,UCA. The amount charged is determined by the type of process being served plus mileage.

The Utah County Sheriff’s Office requires deposits for certain types of services. Upfront payment of applicable civil process service fees and mileage fees is required prior to any service being attempted.

Refunds may be issued if service is not completed or the deposit is more than required once service is rendered.

For more information or questions, please contact the Judicial Support Bureau, Civil Office at 801-851-4036, 4042, 4035, or 4040 or email: civil@utahcounty.gov.

Utah County Sheriff's Office Service Fee Schedule (Revised May 2020)


General Service Fees - $20.00 for each defendant, plus milage.

Includes the service of:
  • Garnishment
  • Garnishee Execution
  • Notice (Note: Evictions require additional process service fees)
  • Order (e.g., Order to Show Cause)
  • Other process by which an action or proceeding is commenced
  • Rule
  • Subpoena
  • Summons
  • Summons and Complaint
  • Summons and Petition

**The Utah County Sheriff’s Office does not charge a fee for the service of protective orders, temporary protective orders, or stalking injunctions.


Service of Writs, Attachments and Executions - $50.00 for each defendant, plus mileage.

Includes the service of:
  • An Attachment on Personal Property
  • Executing a Civil Order of Arrest or a Civil Bench Warrant. (A non-refundable detention and processing fee of $241.75 to allow for incarceration (up to 3 days) is also required to be paid at time of service request for civil arrest orders and civil bench warrants.)
  • Executing an Order for the Delivery of Personal Property
  • Writ of Assistance
  • Writ of Execution
  • Writ of Possession
  • Writ of Replevin
  • Writ of Restitution

Eviction Process

Includes the service of:
  • Posted Notice to Vacate $20, plus 1 Mileage (See mileage costs by City)
  • Summons and Complaint $20, plus 3 Mileage (See mileage costs by City)
  • Order / Writ of Restitution $50, plus 1 Mileage (See mileage costs by City)
  • Total Cost for Eviction Process: $90 for Paper Service Fees plus Mileage Fees

Mileage Fees - $2.50 per mile as follows:

The fees for 3 one-way trips to the city being served will be charged in addition to the identified civil process fee. All fees must be paid in advance.
  • Miles traveled one way for service (starting address is Provo 4th District Court)
  • Miles traveled one way for service plus two additional attempts. Mileage will be charged up front for 3 total one-way attempts unless specified otherwise.
  • Miles traveled to transport a Civil Prisoner from place of arrest to Jail or before a Court or Magistrate
  • Miles traveled to transport a Civil Prisoner from Jail before a Court or Magistrate
  • Miles traveled to transport a mental health patient to the Utah State Hospital or to or from a hospital or a mental health facility, when payable by a private individual. If assistance is re-quired to transport the person, the Sheriff may also charge the actual and necessary cost of that assistance.

Mileage Costs by City

**Add the paper service fee to the mileage fee for total cost of the Civil process service
City Miles - One Way 1 Trip 3 Trips
Alpine 19 $47.50 $142.50
American Fork 15 $37.50 $112.50
Benjamin 14 $35.00 $105.00
Birdseye 27 $67.50 $202.50
Cedar Fort 32 $80.00 $240.00
Cedar Hills 16 $40.00 $120.00
Cedar Valley 29 $72.50 $217.50
Colton 54 $135.00 $405.00
Covered Bridge 17 $42.50 $127.50
Draper 23 $57.50 $172.50
Eagle Mountain 29 $72.50 $217.50
Elberta 31 $77.50 $232.50
Elk Ridge 17 $42.50 $127.50
Fairfield 37 $92.50 $277.50
Genola 25 $62.50 $187.50
Goshen 28 $70.00 $210.00
Highland 17 $42.50 $127.50
Hobble Creek 14 $35.00 $105.00
Lake Shore 12 $30.00 $90.00
Lehi 17 $42.50 $127.50
Lindon 9 $22.50 $67.50
Mapleton 10 $25.00 $75.00
Mosida 42 $105.00 $315.00
Orem 5 $12.50 $37.50
Payson 15 $37.50 $112.50
Palmyra 9 $22.50 $67.50
Pleasant Grove 12 $30.00 $90.00
Provo 4 $10.00 $30.00
Salem 13 $32.50 $97.50
Santaquin 21 $52.50 $157.50
Saratoga Springs 23 $57.50 $172.50
Soldier Summit 45 $112.50 $337.50
Spanish Fork 9 $22.50 $67.50
Springdell 8 $20.00 $60.00
Spring Lake 18 $45.00 $135.00
Springville 6 $15.00 $45.00
Sundance 15 $37.50 $112.50
Vineyard 7 $17.50 $52.50
Vivian Park 11 $27.50 $82.50
West Mountain 19 $47.50 $142.50
Woodland Hills 16 $40.00 $120.00
City Miles - One Way 1 Trip 3 Trips

The Utah County Sheriff’s Office requires Deposits for Sheriff Sales as follows:

For more information, contact the Judicial Support Bureau at (801)851-4035 or email: civil@utahcounty.gov.
  • Real Property: (Service of process, publication, sale, etc.) $800 Deposit
  • Personal Property: (Service of process, publication, sale, etc.) $600 Deposit

Miscellaneous Process and Maintenance Fees

As follows:
  • Bond - Undertaking, Taking or Approving: $5.00
  • Notary Fee: $5.00
  • Trustee Sale – Posting: 2 Postings @ $20 each plus one mileage $40.00 plus mileage


DISCLAIMER: FEES MAY CHANGE AT ANY TIME