Utah County Sheriff's Office

Off Duty Law Enforcement Services:

The Enforcement Bureau facilitates contract services for events held in all areas of Utah County (e.g. marathons, film projects, parades, etc.). We provide POST certified Utah County Sheriff's deputies in uniform and in a marked Utah County Sheriff's Office vehicle for the purpose of regulating traffic flow and/or providing security. In all circumstances, the primary function of deputies shall be public safety and the enforcement of applicable state and county laws.
To arrange for security services for an event, please contact La Rhea Reynolds by email.

Off Duty Security Services:

The Judicial Support Bureau facilitates contract security services for events held in County owned buildings in the Provo complex and/or on their grounds. Citizens wishing to utilze the Utah County Health and Justice Building, the Historic Courthouse, the Utah County Administration Building or their grounds for private events (e.g., weddings, photo shoots, film events, festivals, etc.) may be required to contract with us to provide security for a given event.
To arrange for security services for an event in the Provo complex, please contact Sgt. Robert Weidlein or Lt. Yvette Rice by email. Read more about our services at our Supplemental Security site .

Contract Services Rates:

Deputy Rates: $90 per hour per deputy

Supervisor Rates: $100 per hour per supervisor *Any event requiring more than three deputies to work must include a supervisor in addition to the required deputies. In this case, the event holder will be charged an additional $100 per hour for the supervisor's presence at the event.

Convention Center Security: $39 per hour per deputy/supervisor

  • 2-hour minimum charge per deputy per event
  • Our office requires a minimum of 10 days to process the request and arrange for adequate law enforcement/security coverage for your event
  • Deputy travel time may be additionally charged for any event occurring in a remote, outlying area (as determined by Utah County) which requires substantial time to commute to and from an event
  • Requestor will be billed after the event and payment is due within 14 days of receipt of the event invoice

Cancellation Policy:

We require 48 hours notice to cancel requested services. If any agreed upon service is cancelled without at least 48 hours notice, the requestor will be billed a two hour minimum charge per deputy.

Utah County Event Permit Application:

While not all events held on County owned properties, in County-owned buildings, or out in the community require an event permit, it is advisable to consult with the Utah County Public Works Department prior to holding an event and prior to arranging for security for an event. If a permit is required, Public Works will require a minimum of 30 days to process the permit application for approval. Information regarding County event permits and the permit application form can be found at: the Event Permits page .