Utah County Sheriff's Office

Firearms


The Firearms staff is tasked with conducting quality firearms related training for over 300 sworn deputies; maintaining and improving the Utah County Sheriff’s Office Thistle Firing Range, and hosting the firearms training and activities of more than 30 private, City, State and Federal entities. The Firearms staff also supports safe gun handling and public education by partnering with several non-profit private groups who teach and promote gun safety and shooting sports.

The Thistle Gun Range will be open starting June 25th, 2021.

Call 801-851-4370 for up-to-date recorded information.

Public Range Days: Fridays 5:00 p.m. to dusk (June - October)
Saturdays 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (June - October)
Range Closed On : Friday | July 16, 2021
Saturday | July 31, 2021 - *Closing early at 3pm.
Friday | August 20, 2021
Friday | August 27, 2021
Saturday | August 28, 2021
Friday | September 3, 2021
Friday | September 10, 2021
Friday | September 17, 2021
Friday | September 24, 2021
Friday | October 1, 2021
* Range may be closed without notice on dates not listed. Please call 801-851-4370 for up-to-date Range information.


Range access is free but shooters must sign a waver at the office and provide their own eye and ear protection as well as paper or cardboard targets.

The Firearms Staff

  • Consists of two full time instructor/armorers, and 30 adjunct instructors.
  • Scheduled 262 training events during the last calendar year.
  • Schedules and hosts the training of 28 additional law enforcement agencies.
  • Partners with several private non-profit firearms training groups including: Hunter Safety, Boy Scouts of America, Action Target, Women in the Outdoors, Wildlife Turkey Federation and the Wasatch Mountain Shooters Association. (I.D.P.A.)